University of Mississippi

eGrove

Research News: Grants and Publications (2000-2014)

Research Grants, Publications, and U.S. **Patents**

10-3-2001

Research News: 2001, no. 4

University of Mississippi. School of Pharmacy

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/pharmacy_news



Part of the Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Commons

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. School of Pharmacy, "Research News: 2001, no. 4" (2001). Research News: Grants and Publications (2000-2014). 6.

https://egrove.olemiss.edu/pharmacy_news/6

This Report is brought to you for free and open access by the Research Grants, Publications, and U. S. Patents at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Research News: Grants and Publications (2000-2014) by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.



The University of Mississippi

Interoffice Memorandum

SCHOOL OF PHARMACY OFFICE OF THE DEAN

University, MS 38677 Phone: (662) 915-7265 Fax: (662) 915-5704

TO: All School of Pharmacy Personnel

FROM: Charles D. Hufford, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs

DATE: October 3, 2001

SUBJECT: Research News (#4)

The following **GRANTS/CONTRACTS** have recently been awarded:

- 1. **Dr. Mitchell Avery** (P.I. Medicinal Chemistry) Rational Design and Synthesis of Novel Drugs for the Treatment of Emerging Infectious Diseases (Centers for Disease Control), \$1,500,000 (Year 2) 10/1/01-9/30/02.
- 2. **Dr. Mitchell Avery** (P.I. Medicinal Chemistry) Development and Testing of New Antimalarial Drugs (Centers for Disease Control), \$5,000,000 (Year 2) 9/1/01-8/31/02.
- 3. **Dr. Dennis Feller** (P.I. Pharmacology) and **Dr. Ikhlas Khan** (Co-P.I. NCNPR) Effects of *Ephedra* on Human Alpha- and Beta-Adrenoceptor Subtypes (National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine), \$179,375 3/01/01-2/28/02.
- 4. **Dr. Mark T. Hamann** (P.I. Pharmacognosy) Approaches to Characterization of Antiinfective Agents (PHS NIH NIAID), \$94,665 (Year 4) 8/1/01-7/31/02.
- 5. **Dr. David J. McCaffrey** (P.I. Pharmacy Administration) and **Dr. Noel Wilkin** (Co-P.I. Pharmacy Administration) Oncologists' Adoption and Use of Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin Products (Roger Green & Associates), \$18,000 6/28/01-12/28/01.
- 6. **Dr. Michael Repka** (P.I. Pharmaceutics) Antifungal Denture Adhesive Film (AACP New Investigators Program), \$10,000 12/01/01-11/30/02.
- 7. **Dr. Larry Walker** (P.I. NCNPR) and **Dr. Ikhlas Khan**(Co-P.I. NCNPR) Discovery of Natural Products for Treatment of Tropical Diseases (NIH/Walter Reed Army Institute of Research), \$90,000 4/01/01-3/31/02.
- 8. **Dr. Kristine Willett** (P.I. Pharmacology) Screening of Environmental Contaminants (Modification Number 1) (United States Geological Survey/Mississippi State University) \$30,139 3/01-2/02.

The following **PUBLICATIONS** have appeared:

- 1. E.A. Abourashed and **I.A. Khan** "High-Performance Liquid Chromatography Determination of Hydrastine and Berberine in Dietary Supplements Containing Goldenseal", *Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences*, **90**, pp. 817-822 (2001).
- 2. M.S. Ahmed, A.M. Galal, **S.A. Ross**, **D. Ferreira**, **M.A. ElSohly**, A.-R.S. Ibrahim, J.S. Mossa and F.S. El-Feraly "A weakly antimalarial biflavanone from *Rhus retinorrhoea*", *Phytochemistry*, **58**, pp. 599-602 (2001).
- 3. K.Y. Orabi, S.I. Al-Qasoumi, M.M. El-Olemy, J.S. Mossa, and **I. Muhammad** "Dihydroagarofuran alkaloid and triterpenes from *Maytenus heterophylla* and *Maytenus arbutifolia*", *Phytochemistry*, **58**, pp. 475-480 (2001).
- 4. **M. Slattery**, J. Starmer and V.J. Paul "Temporal and spatial variation in defensive metabolites of the tropical Pacific soft corals *Sinularia maxima* and *S. polydactyla*", *Marine Biology*, **138**, pp. 1183-1193 (2001).
- 5. **T.G. van Aardt**, H. van Rensburg and **D. Ferreira** "Synthesis of isoflavonoids. Enantiopure *cis* and *trans*-6a-hydroxypterocarpans and a racemic *trans*-pterocarpan", *Tetrahedron*, **57**, pp. 7113-7126 (2001).

TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER transactions:

In the interest of protecting confidential information, the names and titles associated with School of Pharmacy invention disclosures and patent applications will no longer be published until after a patent has issued.

Invention Disclosures Filed in 2001: 6
Patent Applications Pending: 8
Recent Patents Granted: None

The following **SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS** are also listed:

- Dr. John Cleary has been named a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.
- Dr. Ikhlas Khan has been appointed to the Editorial Board of *Phytotherapy Research* by John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. Publishers. The appointment is for a period of three years and then is subject to renewal.
- Dr. Robert Sindelar was named as the recipient of this year's annual University of Mississippi Faculty Achievement Award. The announcement was made by Provost Carolyn Staton during the Fall Faculty Meeting.

Please continue to send me important research and graduate information so that I might share it with your faculty colleagues. **THIS INFORMATION IS NOW BEING POSTED ON THE SCHOOL OF PHARMACY WEB PAGE!** Thank you.

cc: Dean Barbara G. Wells
Ms. Beverly Urbanek
Ms. Dabney Weems