University of Mississippi

eGrove

Annual Poster Session 2020

Annual Poster Session

10-23-2020

D01. BMS Department Poster

University of Mississippi. Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/pharm_annual_posters



Part of the Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Commons

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. Department of BioMolecular Sciences, "D01. BMS Department Poster" (2020). Annual Poster Session 2020. 24.

https://egrove.olemiss.edu/pharm_annual_posters/24

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Annual Poster Session at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Annual Poster Session 2020 by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.



Vision

We are a department of leaders in inter-disciplinary life sciences dedicated to improving human and environmental health through education, biological and chemical research, and committed service.

Mission

Our mission is to drive innovation through combined excellence in the disciplines of Pharmacognosy, Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmacology, and Environmental Toxicology in order to understand and improve human and environmental health. We will provide positive impacts to our school, the state of Mississippi, and the world, via education and mentored research at the undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral levels, and through our leadership in interdisciplinary chemical and biological sciences.

Faculty and students in our four divisions conduct research and educational activities broadly in the following areas:

Environmental Toxicology seeks to identify and resolve problems related to environmental health.

Medicinal Chemistry designs and synthesizes biologically active compounds based on structure activity relationships.

Pharmacognosy isolates and discovers the functions of natural products.

Pharmacology identifies the mechanisms of action and molecular targets of biomedical compounds.

Faculty Awards and Recognition

P1 Teacher of the Year – James Stewart **P2** Teacher of the Year – Noa Valcarcel BMS1 Recognized as P1 Team of the Year – (Team Leader - Hoang Le, Jason Paris, & Sudeshna Roy) **UM Achievement Award** – David Colby **New Investigator Research Award** – Jason Paris **Distinguished Teaching Scholar** – David Colby **Inaugural AACP Graduate Education SIG** Achievement – Kristie Willett

Department Achievements for 2019 - 2020

Over 141 poster/podium presentations at regional, national and international conferences by faculty, research scientists and graduate students

51 publications • 2 book chapters

2020 Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus

Dr. Hassan Aboul-Enein

Professor Emeritus Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry National Research Centre Class of 1971

"The memories of The University of Mississippi will be always be



engraved in my heart."

Distinguished Guest Lecturer selected by BMS Graduate Students



Dr. James Prestegard Professor Emeritus Department of Chemistry University of Georgia



Members of the Faculty



Kristie Willett. Chair Etox & Pcol



Pcol







Pcog



Sudeshna Roy Med Chem

& Pcog



Ziaeddin Shariat-Madar Pcol



Noa Valcarcel-Ares



Nicole Ashpole



David Colby Med Chem



Jason Paris



Pcog

Vitor Pomin

Deborah Gochfeld

Etox

Graduate Student

Awards and Recognitions

Virginia Dolores Cantu Fellowship - Stephanie Burr

UMMC-GTEC Graduate Scholar program – Cellas

American Chemical Society Travel – Amna Adam

Inducted into Rho Chi – Tomayo Berida, Niloofar

Khaje, Md Imdadul Huque Khan, Hao Liu, Hayley

Prescott, Alaa Qrareya, & Salahuddin Mohammed

Faculty Awarded Grants

Sudeshna Roy & Robert Doerksen – NIH, Target-based

chemotherapeutics development against Mycobacterium

Inducted into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi –

GlyCORE: Glycoscience Center of Research Excellence

Joshua Sharp – NIH, Molecular Structure Determination by Mass

reproductive toxicity from preconceptional BaP exposure - Summer

Joshua Sharp – NSF, Measuring Protein in Conformationally

Sudeshna Roy & Robert Doerksen – NIH, Targeted-based

Joshua Sharp – NIH, Molecular Structure Determination by

BMS Contributors: Ashpole, Rimoldi, & Willett - NIH, NPN

Effects of Novel Minor Cannabinoids & Terpenes on Cellular &

Kristie Willett & Cole Stevens – NIH, Eukaryotic Translation Factor Inhibitors as Selective Translation Factor probes and

Myxobacteriak Predatory Antimicrobial Production in Response

2020 Distinguished

Graduate Student Awards

Edith Pritchard – Stephanie Burr Marvin Davis – Alaa Qrareya

Outstanding Pharmacognosy – Shukria Akbar

Outstanding Medicinal Chemistry -- AyoOluwa Aderibigbe

BMS Student Advocate Excellence – Mohammed Hawwal

Nicole Ashpole & Jason Paris – NIH, Anti-inflammatory

Kristie Willett – NIH, Mechanisms of developmental & reproductive toxicity from preconceptional BaP exposure

Cole Stevens, Joshua Sharp, & Vitor Pomin – NIH,

Mass Spectrometry and Computational Modeling

Chemotherapeutics Development Against Mycobacterium

Heterogenous Mixtures by Top-Down Hydroxyl Radical Protein

Jason Paris – NIH, Opiate abuse and sex steroids influence

Kristie Willett – NIH, Mechanisms of developmental and

Research Experiences for Students (Admin Supp)

& Alaa Qrareya

Salahuddin Mohammed

Joshua Sharp & Samir Ross – NIH,

Spectrometry and Computational Modeling

NeuroAIDS pathology – supplement

Hayes

tuberculosis

Footprinting

Tuberculosis

COBRE Phase III Center

Anticancer Therapeutics

Murine Models of HIV & HIV Proteins

to Quorum Sensing Signal Inception



Joshua Sharp Pcol

Ikhlas Khan Pcog

& Etox



Hoang Le

Courtney Roper John Rimoldi **Etox** Med Chem



Jing Li

Med Chem

Samir Ross Pcog



Pcol







Robert Doerksen

Med Chem





Marc Slattery Pcog & Etox



OleMissBMS





@OleMissBMS