University of Mississippi

eGrove

Resolutions

Faculty Senate

11-14-2002

Amendments to the Constitution: Economics move to Liberal Arts

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_resolutions

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "Amendments to the Constitution: Economics move to Liberal Arts" (2002). *Resolutions*. 32. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_resolutions/32

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Resolution: Changes to the Constitution to Move Economics to Liberal Arts

Section 2.

The membership quota of the Senate of the Faculty shall consist of one senator each from the College of Liberal Arts, the School of Accountancy, the School of Business Administration, the School of Education, the School of Engineering, the School of Law, the School of Pharmacy, and the faculty of the University Libraries, plus one additional senator for every twelve members of the Eligible Faculty in each of the above listed voting units. Within the College of Liberal Arts, elections shall be carried out in three different units, with eligible candidates and eligible voters limited to their respective group: Liberal Arts Group 1 consists of faculty from Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Philosophy and Religion, Physics and Astronomy, and the ROTC programs; Liberal Arts Group 2 consists of faculty from Art, Classics, English, Journalism, Modern Languages, Music, and Theater Arts; Liberal Arts Group 3 consists of faculty from Communicative Disorders, Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology and Anthropology. If the process of dividing twelve into the number of Eligible Faculty in a unit results in a remainder of seven or more, that unit shall be entitled to one additional senator in its quota. Only faculty members who meet the criteria for Eligible Faculty shall have the right to vote in Senate elections.