University of Mississippi

## eGrove

Resolutions

**Faculty Senate** 

3-15-2015

## Welcoming Contract Negotiations with Chancellor Dan Jones

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen\_resolutions

## **Recommended Citation**

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "Welcoming Contract Negotiations with Chancellor Dan Jones" (2015). *Resolutions*. 77. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen\_resolutions/77

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.



The Senate of the Faculty of the University of Mississippi welcomes news that contract negotiations have commenced between the Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning and Chancellor Dan Jones. In several public statements over the course of the last week, Chancellor Jones has struck a conciliatory tone. The Senate expresses its hope that a reconciliatory spirit will guide ongoing negotiations to reach a conclusion that is in the best interest of the University of Mississippi.

Over the last week, no information has come to light casting doubt on Chancellor Jones' accomplishments as leader of the University of Mississippi. His record, as summarized in the Faculty Senate's resolution on March 24, 2015, stands. Thus, the Faculty Senate of the University of Mississippi continues its unwavering support for the immediate renewal of Chancellor Jones' contract.

The Faculty of the University of Mississippi is proud to join the Executive Faculty of the University of Mississippi Medical Center, the Associated Student Body, the Staff Council, the University of Mississippi Foundation, the Executive Committee of the Ole Miss Alumni Association, benefactors of the University and the many diverse voices that rose in support of Chancellor Dan Jones.

The Faculty Senate reaffirms that Chancellor Jones is an exceptional leader for this university and deserves to continue his truly outstanding work for the University of Mississippi beyond the end of his current contract on September 14, 2015. The Senate expresses its utmost confidence in Chancellor Jones and calls upon the Board to immediately renew his contract.

THE SENATE OF THE FACULTY

In Sweet

Chair of the Faculty Senate

	Faculty Senators	
Rachna Prakash, Accountancy	Charles Ross, African American Studies	Philip Jackson, Art & Art History
Patrick Curtis, Biology	Brice Noonan, Biology	Robert Doerksen, BioMolecular Sciences
Randy Wadkins, Chemistry	Brad Cook, Classics	Tossi Ikuta, Communication Sciences & Disorders
Feng Wang, Computer Science	Tom Garrett, Economics	Elliott Hutchcraft, Electrical Engineering
Adetayo Alabi, English	Ben McClelland, English	Annette Trefzer, English
Robert Van Ness, Finance	Robert Holt, Geology	Yang-Chieh Fu, Health & Exercise Science
Oliver Dinius, History	Darren Grem, History	Joshua Howard, History

Foculty Senators

P.O. Box 1848 | University, MS 38677-1848 | www.olemiss.edu

Vanessa Gregory, Journalism	Antonia Eliason, Law	Dennis Bunch, Leadership & Counselor Education
Lorri Williamson, Legal Studies	Susan Ivey, Library	Jessica Leming, Library
Jing Jing Wu, Library	Dwight Frink, Management	Milam Aiken, Management Information Systems
Christopher Newman, Marketing	Sasha Kocic, Mathematics	Tejas Pandya, Mechanical Engineering
Heather Allen, Modern Languages	Valentina Iepuri, Modern Languages	Adam Estes, Music
Michael Gardiner, Music	Jos Milton, Music	Laurel Lambert, Nutrition & Hospitality Management
Erin Holmes, Pharmacy Administration	Allison Bell, Pharmacy Practice	Mary Thurlkill, Philosophy & Religion
Breese Quinn, Physics & Astronomy	Ben Jones, Political Science	Greg Love, Political Science
Marilyn Mendolia, Psychology	David Rutherford, Public Policy Leadership	Desiree Stepteau-Watson, Social Work
Marcos Mendoza, Sociology & Anthropology	Minjoo Oh, Sociology & Anthropology	Allan Bellman, Teacher Education
Mark Ortwein, Teacher Education	Joe Sumrall, Teacher Education	Rory Ledbetter, Theatre Arts