## University of Mississippi

## **eGrove**

Resolutions Faculty Senate

3-24-2015

# Calling for the Renewal of the Contract of Chancellor Dan Jones

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen\_resolutions

#### **Recommended Citation**

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "Calling for the Renewal of the Contract of Chancellor Dan Jones" (2015). *Resolutions*. 78.

https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen\_resolutions/78

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.



March 24, 2015

The Senate of the Faculty of the University of Mississippi is shocked and extremely disappointed to learn that the Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning decided not to renew the contract of our exceptional leader, Chancellor Dan Jones.

The Senate expresses its utmost confidence in Chancellor Jones and calls upon the Board to immediately reverse its decision and renew his contract.

Since 2009, under the leadership of Dan Jones as the 16<sup>th</sup> Chancellor of the University of Mississippi, the state's flagship university has experienced extraordinary success that greatly enhances its national reputation:

- The enrollment at the University of Mississippi has increased by 26% to more than 23,000 students.
- The freshman class in 2014 is 48% larger than in 2010, and entering students are academically stronger.
- Student athletes at the University of Mississippi have seen unprecedented success in the classroom and in intercollegiate competition.
- Fundraising for the academic and athletic programs at the University of Mississippi has increased by over 70% since 2010, totaling \$381 million in gifts.
- Initiatives to strengthen diversity on campus have made the University of Mississippi a more inclusive place. Among universities in the SEC, we are a leader in African-American enrollment, and graduation rates of African-American students have improved by 21% since 2010.
- The university's strongest programs have thrived. The Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College has grown by 42% since Fall 2009 and the average ACT of the honors freshmen continues to rise.

Remarkably, the University of Mississippi under Chancellor Jones' leadership has realized this success during economically challenging times that have forced many universities around the country to cut back rather than grow. Chancellor Jones has positioned the University of Mississippi for sustained success at the national and global level.

Chancellor Jones maintains an ongoing dialogue with the Faculty Senate and is committed to shared governance, openness, and transparency. The result is a campus community characterized by academic freedom and a deep dedication to learning.

Chancellor Jones is an exceptional leader for this university and deserves to continue his truly outstanding work for the University of Mississippi beyond the end of his current contract on September 14, 2015.

We teach our students that hard work and demonstrable success will be rewarded. The Faculty Senate of the University of Mississippi calls on the Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning to act by those values and affirm its commitment to the future of our students, institution, and state by renewing the contract of Chancellor Dan Jones.

### THE SENATE OF THE FACULTY

Chair of the Faculty Senate

## **Faculty Senators**

	<b>U</b>	
Rachna Prakash, Accountancy	Charles Ross, African American Studies	Philip Jackson, Art & Art History
Patrick Curtis, Biology	Brice Noonan, Biology	Robert Doerksen, BioMolecular Sciences
Randy Wadkins, Chemistry	Brad Cook, Classics	Tossi Ikuta, Communication Sciences & Disorders
Feng Wang, Computer Science	Tom Garrett, Economics	Elliott Hutchcraft, Electrical Engineering
Adetayo Alabi, English	Ben McClelland, English	Annette Trefzer, English
Robert Van Ness, Finance	Robert Holt, Geology	Yang-Chieh Fu, Health & Exercise Science
Oliver Dinius, History	Darren Grem, History	Joshua Howard, History
Vanessa Gregory, Journalism	Antonia Eliason, Law	Dennis Bunch, Leadership & Counselor Education
Lorri Williamson, Legal Studies	Susan Ivey, Library	Jessica Leming, Library
Jing Jing Wu, Library	Dwight Frink, Management	Milam Aiken, Management Information Systems
Christopher Newman, Marketing	Sasha Kocic, Mathematics	Tejas Pandya, Mechanical Engineering
Heather Allen, Modern Languages	Valentina Iepuri, Modern Languages	Adam Estes, Music
Michael Gardiner, Music	Jos Milton, Music	Laurel Lambert, Nutrition & Hospitality Management
Erin Holmes, Pharmacy Administration	Allison Bell, Pharmacy Practice	Mary Thurlkill, Philosophy & Religion
Breese Quinn, Physics & Astronomy	Ben Jones, Political Science	Greg Love, Political Science
Marilyn Mendolia, Psychology	David Rutherford, Public Policy Leadership	Desiree Stepteau-Watson, Social Work
Marcos Mendoza, Sociology & Anthropology	Minjoo Oh, Sociology & Anthropology	Allan Bellman, Teacher Education
Mark Ortwein, Teacher Education	Joe Sumrall, Teacher Education	Rory Ledbetter, Theatre Arts