University of Mississippi

eGrove

Meeting Minutes Faculty Senate

9-17-2013

September 17, 2013

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "September 17, 2013" (2013). *Meeting Minutes*. 127. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes/127

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

University of Mississippi Faculty Senate Minutes

September 17, 2013

The second meeting of the University of Mississippi Faculty Senate was called together at 7:00 PM on September 17, 2013.

Senators Attended or Excused: Mitch Wenger, Charles Ross, Philip Jackson, Patrick Curtis, Cliff Ochs, Adam Smith, Michael Mossing, Hunain Alkhateb, Brad Cook, Carolyn Higdon, Feng Wang, Tom Garrett, Mustafa Matalgah, Tom Franklin, Annette Trefzer, Andre Liebenberg, Robert Holt, Oliver Dinius, Noell Wilson, Darren Grem, Vanessa Gregory, William Berry, Lorri Williamson, Ruth Mirtz, Jennifer Brosek, Milam Aiken, Nathan Jones, Mitchell Avery, Mei Yang, Valentina Iepuri, Micah Everett, Laurel Lambert, Seongbong Jo, Daneel Ferreira, Rahul Khanna, Allison Bell, Robert Barnard, Rich Raspet, Greg Love, Marilyn Mendolia, Christian Sellar, Minjoo Oh, Joe Sumrall, Debby Chessin, Mark Ortwein, Michael Barnett, Maulica Pettaway, Sheila Pedgett, D.C.

Senators Absent: Zia Shariat-Madar, Karen Raber (contacted in advance), Jasmine Townsend (contacted in advance), Donna Davis, Milorad Novicevic, Cesar Rego, James Chambers, Jos Milton (contacted in advance), Michele Kelly

The following departments were without representation as of this date: Leadership and Counseling Education.

Guests: Provost Stocks, Isaac Astill

The Senate was welcomed by Michael Barnett, as current chair of the Senate.

Senator Barnett called for approval for September 3, 2013 minutes, which were moved, seconded and passed without comment.

Isaac Astill, Director of Parking and Transportation: Mr. Astill reviewed the parking situation as it is currently on the UM campus. He discussed transition issues in the Parking Office, and reviewed the current numbers, current income from parking slots, future plans, and faculty/staff concerns. Please refer to his slides posted on the Faculty Senate website for the specific data. (addendum to this report).

Provost Morris Stocks: Provost Stocks discussed the state of the university through 2012, with a discussion of programs, faculty, comparison to similar universities and to the overall SACS data. Please refer to his slides posted on the Faculty Senate website for specific data. (addendum to this report).

Brice Noonan for the Energy Management Committee Update (American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment Report): Progressing. No formal report at this time.

Senate Committee Reports:

Executive Committee: No formal report

Academic Affairs: No formal report

Academic Support: No formal report

Finance: No formal report

Governance: No formal report

University Services: No formal report

Old Business: No old business outstanding at this time, other than what has been referred to committee.

New Business: No new business

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 8:45 pm.

All Senators are thanked for attending to the university business on this date.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Wiles Higdon Secretary, 2013-2014