Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 8 Number 2 *Fall 1985*

Article 4

Fall 1985

Hourglass award won by Edgar Jones

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook

Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

Accounting Historians, Academy of (1985) "Hourglass award won by Edgar Jones," *Accounting Historians Notebook*: Vol. 8 : No. 2 , Article 4. Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol8/iss2/4

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

HOURGLASS AWARD WON BY EDGAR JONES

Edgar Jones, a Group Historian for Guest Keen and Nettlefolds, is this year's recipient of the prestigeous Hourglass Award for his research entitled Accountancy and the British Economy 1840-1980: The Evolution of Ernst & Whinney. The Hourglass Award is presented annually to a person(s) who has made a significant contribution to the study of accounting history.

Dr. H. E. Jones was born on July 20, 1953. He was educated at Oriel College, Oxford. He holds an M.A. in Modern History, with specialist papers in British Economic and Social History (1972-1975). He also attended Nuffield College, Oxford (1975-1978), for a D. Phil. His dissertation was entitled "The Lea Valley 1750-1900: A Regional Study of Transport and Industrial Development." In 1984 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

He was a contributor to the Dictionary of Business Biography, 5 volumes, including entries on eminent accountants: W. W. Deloitte, Arthur Cooper, Ernest Cooper, Frederick Whinney, William Turquand, Sir Harold Barton, Sir Basil Mayhew and Lord Benson. He was also author of Industrial Architecture in Britian 1750-1939, Batsford, London (1985). Mr. Jones is employed by Guest, Keen & Nettlefolds to write a two-volume history of their group to be entitled: "Industrial Enterprise, A History of Guest Keen & Nettlefolds, 1759-1980."

Edgar Jones joins an elite group of scholars by winning the Hourglass Award. The previous Hourglass winners, and the publications that won them the award, are as follows:

- 1973 Steve Zeff, Forging Accounting Principles in Five Countries.
- 1974 Michael Chatfield, A History of Accounting Thought.



Edgar Jones

- 1975 Hanns-Martin W. Schoenfeld, Cost Terminology and Cost Theory: A Study of its Development and Present State in Central Europe.
- 1976 Osamu Kojima and Basil Yamey, for reproduction of Ympyn's A Notable and Very Excellent Worke (1547).
- 1977 A. Van Seventer, for translation of O. Ten Have's: A History of Accountancy.
- 1978 David A. R. Forrester, Schmalenbach and After.
- 1979 Murray Wells, Accounting for Common Costs.
- 1980 Gary John Previts and Barbara D. Merino, A History of Accounting in America.
- 1981 H. Thomas Johnson, for a series of articles on "The Development of Management Accounting."
- 1982 Willard Stone, for a series of articles on "American Accounting History."
- 1983 Richard P. Brief, for authoring many books and articles and editing 196 volumes on accounting history subjects.
- 1984 Esteban Hernandez Esteve, Contribution to the Study of Spanish Accounting History.

The Accounting Historians Notebook, Fall, 1985

6

Published by eGrove, 1985

1