Woman C.P.A.

Volume 6 | Issue 4 Article 3

6-1944

Annual Elections; ASWA Trophy Award; Announcement; October 13-15!

American Woman's Society of Certified Public Accountants

American Society of Women Accountants

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/wcpa



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Women's Studies Commons

Recommended Citation

American Woman's Society of Certified Public Accountants and American Society of Women Accountants (1944) "Annual Elections; ASWA Trophy Award; Announcement; October 13-15!," Woman C.P.A.: Vol. 6: Iss. 4, Article 3.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/wcpa/vol6/iss4/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Woman C.P.A. by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Annual Elections

As provided in resolutions adopted in 1942 and to enable newly elected officers to have their committees organized and general program outlined by the time responsibility of office is assumed, election of officers of both societies will be conducted this year via mail.

In accordance with reports of nominating committee of each society, the following names will appear on ballots which will be mailed at an early date:

Additional nominations, to be included on ballots, should be sent to the following nominating committee chairmen not later than July 15:

AWSCPA Mrs. Ida S. Broo 525 Indiana Trust Bldg. Indianapolis 4, Ind. ASWA Mabel F. Smith 228 E. Philadelphia St. Whittier, Calif.

AWSCPA Nominations President

Spokane, Wash.

Mrs. Hazel J. Skog

Ji Sing was great and a special and a specia
First Vice President
Ethleen Lasseter Atlanta, Ga.
Ethleen Lasseter
Second vice President
Helen Weil Milwaukee, Wis.
Heloise Brown Houston, Texas
Treasurer
Eleanor K. Walquist Albany, N. Y.
Eleanor K. Walquist Albany, N. 1.
Directors
Mrs. Grace S. Keats (ex-officio) Chicago, Ill.
Jane E. Goode Los Angeles, Calif.
Margaret E. Lauer New Orleans, La.
Jennie M. Palen New York, N. Y.
Jennie M. Falen
ASWA Nominations
President
Dorothy Miller Spokane, Wash.
First Vice President
Marjorie Mitchell Detroit, Mich.,
wiar joine witchen Detroit, witch,
Second Vice President
Mabel Brillhart Chicago, Ill.
Secretary
Betty Jane Lucas Spokane, Wash.
•
Treasurer
Helen Maddex San Francisco, Calif.
Directors
(for full term—two years)
Edith M. Berger Seattle, Wash.
Alberta R. Crary Los Angeles, Calif.
Explain Family Los Angeles, Calif.
Evelyn Forsyth Grand Rapids, Mich.
(for unexpired term—one year)
Mary Jane Hamilton Indianapolis, Ind.
(elected last year for two years)
Barbara BatemanSpokane, Wash.
Jean Neill Terre Haute, Ind.

ASWA Trophy Award

A President's Trophy has been established in the form of a mahogany gavel with an engraved silver nameplate which will be given each year by the outgoing president to the chapter chosen by her in recognition of accomplishment during the year. The choice will be based on cooperation with the national organization, public relations, membership attendance and growth, programs and bulletins. The president's own chapter is not eligible.

Special mention is due our Seattle Chapter as its membership has almost doubled this year. Grand Rapids scored the most on all other points. It is now our largest chapter, increased its membership nearly 30% since it was organized last Fall. Its monthly bulletin reflects the energy, enthusiasm and vision of this chapter who has just awarded a tuition scholarship at the University of Michigan to a junior accounting major.

The trophy will be given to Grand Rapids at its first birthday party on June 21st to which the business and professional men of Grand Rapids have been invited. Congratulations on a most successful year and best wishes for continued achievement.

Announcement

The resignation of Thelma Ann Houser of Indianapolis as Treasurer of ASWA has been accepted with regret and the hope that the pressure of work will soon lighten sufficiently to enable her to resume activity in the Society which she has served faithfully and efficiently since-its organization.

Elizabeth Stowell has been appointed to serve until the next election. All dues and communications should be sent to her at 1224 Pacific Finance Bldg., Los Angeles 14, California.

October 13-15!

Attention should be kept focused on those dates — and the Joint Annual Meeting of AWSCPA and ASWA scheduled to be held then in St. Louis.

To conserve time and travel, the meeting has been scheduled to immediately precede the annual meeting of The American Institute of Accountants for the benefit of those who desire to attend both meetings.

Make your plans now to attend!