University of Mississippi

eGrove

Meeting Minutes Faculty Senate

11-12-2019

November 12, 2019

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "November 12, 2019" (2019). *Meeting Minutes*. 190. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes/190

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Faculty Senate Agenda – November 12, 2019

Room - Bryant 209

- Call Meeting to Order
- Senators Present: Jeff Pickerd, Lauren Cardenas, Brice Noonan, Brad Jones, Cole Stevens, , Jim Cizdziel, Chris Mullen, Joseph Carlisle, Richard Gordon, Beth Ann Fennelly, Cristie Ellis, Mary Hayes, Kathleen Fuller, Jennifer Gifford, , Phillis George, Zachary Kagan Guthrie, Vivian Ibrahim, Evangeline Ivy, Chip Wade, Charles Stotler, Dennis Bunch, Kristin Rogers, Bob Robinson, Sumali Conlon, David Gligor, Jon-Michael Wimberly, Tejas Pandya, Corina Petrescu, Whitney Sarver, Julia Bussade, Thomas Peattie, Hyunwoo Joung, Chalet Tan, Meagen Rosenthal, Jordan Ballou, Fei Lan, Breese Quinn, Sue Ann Skipworth, Marilyn Mendolia, Kyle Fritz, Daniel Durkin, Tom Brady, Donna Buckley, Carrie McCormick, Jenny Bucksbarg, Angela Green, Carolyn Higdon
- Senators Absent (Excused): Brenda Prager, Michael Barnett, Brian Boutwell
- **Senators Absent (Substitued):** KoFan Lee (sub Lin Ye)
- Senators Absent (Unexcused): Aileen Ajootian, Carmen Sanchis-Sinisterra, Ana Velitchkova
- Approve minutes from October 8, 2019 meeting
 - o Motion: Corina Petrescu
 - Second
 - Vote all in favor
- Campus Climate Survey Update Brice Noonan
- Dr. Bob Baker Senior Associate Athletic Director Student Athlete Development
 - o Detailed the workforce of the academic support office for student athletes
 - o Reported on graduation, retention, and post-graduate placement rates
 - o Contact information: rhbaker1@olemiss.edu
- Dr. Josh Eyler (Director of Faculty Development and Lecturer of Writing and Rhetoric)
 QEP Critical Thinking
 - Outlined Assessment Plan for QEP in Critical Thinking, with plan to launch this assessment next year.

- o 34 faculty FACT Institute or CTR Grants to implement Critical Thinking.
- o Funding opportunities: thinkforward.olemiss.edu/funding-opportunities/

• Discussion of Policy for Posthumous and In Memoriam Degrees policy changes

- Recommendation that 2nd sentence under Posthumous Degree section should be moved into the following paragraphs (rather than follow the definition of the degree purpose.
- O Concern was expressed about the ability of departments to quantitatively assess 75% completion of a graduate degree in programs for which the dissertation/thesis forms such a large and integral component of degree completion. It was noted that the policy wording allows each department to make this determination independently.

• Committee Updates

- o Academic Instructional Affairs (chair: Corina Petrescu): Nothing to report
- o Academic Conduct (chair: Vivian Ibrahim): Nothing to report
- o Finance & Benefits (chair: Joseph Carlisle): Nothing to report
- o Development & Planning (chair: Jon-Michael Wimberly): Nothing to report
- o Governance (chair: Angela Green): Nothing to report
- o Research & Creative Achievement (chair: Thomas Peattie): Nothing to report
- o University Services (chair: Brad Jones): Nothing to report

• Old Business

- A RESOLUTION OF THE FACULTY SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI TO DEVELOP A COALITION OF ALL POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTIONS GOVERED BY THE IHL IN THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI TO INITIATE A CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT TO ABOLISH IHL AND SUBSTITUTE IT WITH SOME OTHER MORE RESPONSIVE AND REPRESENTATIVE GOVERNING SYSTEM.
 - Motion to take this motion from the table: Daniel Durkin
 - Seconded

Vote For: 12Vote against: 31

- New Business
- Adjournment

- o Motion:
 - Second

• Vote: All in favor

NEXT MEETING: December 10, 2019 @ 6:00 209 Bryant Hall