University of Mississippi

eGrove

Meeting Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-5-2020

May 5, 2020

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes

Recommended Citation

University of Mississippi. Faculty Senate, "May 5, 2020" (2020). *Meeting Minutes*. 220. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/facsen_minutes/220

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Faculty Senate MINUTES – May 5, 2020

Zoom – @ 6:00 pm (details at end of Agenda)

- Senators Present: Jeff Pickerd, Lauren Cardenas, Brice Noonan, Brad Jones, Cole Stevens, Brenda Prager, Jim Cizdziel, Aileen Ajootian, Carolyn Higdon, Joseph Carlisle, Beth Ann Fennelly, Cristie Ellis, Shari Holt, Jennifer Gifford, KoFan Lee, Phillis George, Zachary Kagan Guthrie, Mikaela Adams, Evangeline Ivy, Charles Stotler, Kristin Rogers, Sumali Conlon, Jon-Michael Wimberly, Tejas Pandya, Corina Petrescu, Whitney Sarver, Julia Bussade, Thomas Peattie, Hyunwoo Joung, Chalet Tan, Meagen Rosenthal, Jordan Ballou, Robert Barnard, Breese Quinn, Sue Ann Skipworth, Marilyn Mendolia, Kyle Fritz, Daniel Durkin, Willa Johnson, Tom Brady, Kenya Wolff, Donna Buckley, Michael Barnett, Carrie McCormick, Jenny Bucksbarg, Angela Green, Chip Wade, Carmen Sanchis-Sinisterra, Richard Gordon, Robert Van Ness
- Senators Absent (Excused):
- Senators Absent (Substitued):
- Senators Absent (Unexcused): Chris Mullen, Kathleen Fuller, Dennis Bunch, Brian Boutwell, Bob Robinson, David Gligor,
- Call Meeting to Order
- Approve minutes from the April 14, 2020 meeting
 - o Motion
 - Second
 - Vote all in favor
- Update from the Chancellor on COVID-19 response Chancellor Glenn Boyce
- Update from the Provost on COVID-19 response Provost Noel Wilkin
- Committee Updates
 - Academic Instructional Affairs (chair: Corina Petrescu)
 - See attached report
 - Academic Conduct (chair: Kenya Wolff)
 - Finance & Benefits (chair: Joseph Carlisle)
 - o Development & Planning (chair: Jon-Michael Wimberly)
 - Governance (chair: Angela Green)

- o Research & Creative Achievement (chair: Thomas Peattie)
- University Services (chair: Brad Jones)
- Executive (chair: Meagen Rosenthal)
 - CAA resolution: To collect student evaluations of teaching through summer 2020. These evaluations should have neither a positive nor negative bearing on tenure, promotion, or retention decisions.
 - See attached details from IHL policies manual re: SETs

• Old Business

New Business

- o Election of Faculty Senate officers for AY 2020-2021
 - Chair
 - Nominations Chip Wade, Meagen Rosenthal
 - Vote
 - Chip Wade 5 votes
 - Meagen Rosenthal 35 votes
 - Vice Chair
 - Nominations Phillis George
 - Vote
 - In favor All in favor
 - o Opposed
 - o Abstain
 - Secretary
 - Angela Greene
 - Vote
 - In favor All in favor
 - o Opposed
 - o Abstain

• Adjournment

- Motion
 - Second
 - Vote Meeting adjourned

NEXT MEETING: AUGUST 2020 @ 6:00 via ZOOM

Zoom details:

Meagen Rosenthal is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: Faculty Senate Meeting - MAY 5, 2020

Time: May 5, 2020 06:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

https://zoom.us/j/99793206156?pwd=MVhCOUdrVkFzMytxRTd3WUVGMVAzQT09

Meeting ID: 997 9320 6156

Password: 741020

One tap mobile

+13017158592,,99793206156# US (Germantown)

+13126266799,,99793206156# US (Chicago)

Dial by your location

+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 929 436 2866 US (New York)

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 997 9320 6156

Find your local number: <u>https://zoom.us/u/adWNrvA7b9</u>

May 5, 2020

AIA Report regarding New SETs Task Force

- The following people have agreed to serve on the task force: Josh Eyler (CETL), Angela Green (Writing and Rhetoric), Tamara Warhol (Modern Languages), Willa Johnson (Sociology & Anthropology), Robert Cummings (CETL), and Phillis George (Education). Anyone else interested in joining the team, please email Corina Petrescu at <u>petrescu@olemiss.edu</u>

- Provost Wilkin has agreed to assist with the identification of non-faculty stakeholders to help with the development

Same as in the past: we let Department Chairs know that they are below the limit (we are doing that now for May and will do it in about a week for Summer Full and Summer 1). That starts a conversation between April and the Chair regarding if the class is needed by student(s). If not needed by students, the Chair and the Dean have the option to help fund a portion of the faculty salary commensurate with the class size (the smaller the class, the larger the funding by the Chair or Dean).

Relevant IHL Policies:

407.02 EVALUATING TEACHING

The method of annually evaluating the quality of teaching may employ multiple sources of data appropria te to the discipline. At a minimum, students enrolled

in the course shall have the opportunity to provide written feedback about the faculty member's teaching effectiveness to the faculty member, department chair/head and academic dean. (BT Minutes, 4/2019)

http://www.mississippi.edu/board/downloads/policiesandbylaws.pdf