Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 14 Number 2 Fall 1991

Article 6

Fall 1991

Talk about members

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

Accounting Historians, Academy of (1991) "Talk about members," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 14: No. 2, Article 6.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol14/iss2/6

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

- concerning the printing of the *Accounting Historians Notebook* at our December 1991 meeting.
- 22. Maureen Berry announced that Professor Anne Fortin of the Universite du Quebec a Montreal has been selected as the recipient of the Richard G. Vangermeersch Manuscript Award for 1991. The title of her manuscript is "The 1947 French Accounting Plan: Origins and influences on Subsequent Practice."
- 23. Lee Parker will correspond with Tony Tinker regarding any surplus earned on the CPE session.
- 24. Richard Vangermeersch nominated Dr. Williard E. Stone (Professor Emeritus University of Florida) for life membership. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously. His many contributions will appear in the Fall issue of the Accounting Historians Notebook.
- 25. Tom Nessinger suggested that we establish a Council of Past Presidents (the immediate past president would be the chairperson) to provide input for critical issues. Gary Previts pointed out that Al Roberts started a past presidents luncheon which is held each year during the AAA meeting. If the immediate past president would assume the responsibility each year, it could energize the gathering and provide valuable input as Nessinger suggests.
- 26. The meeting adjourned at 12 noon.

Respectfully Submitted, Ashton C. Bishop, Secretary Academy of Accounting Historians August 26, 1991

TALK ABOUT MEMBERS

Listed below are some news about members of the Academy which have come to the attention of the editor. Unfortunately, much of the activity, awards, and publications of members is not communicated to others, thus, due recognition of our colleagues is lacking. Please let the editor know about presentations which involve accounting history, of awards or recognitions received, or new positions taken, and of your published accounting history research in non-Academy publications

GARNER CITED

Dr. Paul Garner was the recipient of the 1991 Presidential Citation from Beta Gamma Sigma. Dr. Garner was recognized with this honor at the National Honoree Luncheon on April 23, 1991. This is only the second Beta Gamma Sigma Presidential Citation Award. The first was issued to the late Richard Irwin.

STONE GIVEN LIFE

At the August 1991 meeting of Officers and Trustees of the Academy, Dr. Williard E. Stone was elected to Life Membership of the Academy of Accounting Historians in recognition of his long service to the Academy and to the community of scholars in Accounting History. Dr. Stone was one of the founders of the Academy in 1973, a Trustee for 1975-76, co-editor of the Accounting History Journal for 1977-80, and recipient of the Hourglass Award in 1982. He received his Ph.D. from the Wharton School in 1957 and was the long-time Chairman of the Accounting Department of the University of Florida.