Yalobusha Review

Volume 4

Article 47

3-1-1998

Announcement

Journal Editors

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/yr

Recommended Citation

Editors, Journal (1998) "Announcement," *Yalobusha Review*. Vol. 4 , Article 47. Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/yr/vol4/iss1/47

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the English at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Yalobusha Review by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Announcement

Each spring, the University of Mississippi English Department holds an open competition to select the best creative writers of fiction and poetry in a campus-wide competition. These awards are the Evans Harrington Creative Writing Scholarship, for freshmen and sophomores, and the Ella Sommerville Awards for Fiction and Poetry, for juniors, seniors, and graduate students. *The Yalobusha Review* congratulates this years' winners:

Evans Harrington Creative Writing Scholarship:

First Prize: Chris Thompson, for "The August". First Honorable Mention: Carrie Hendricks, for "Route 9, Box 208". Second Honorable Mention: Emily Atkinson

Ella Somerville Awards:

Fiction:

First Prize: Wes Berry, for "Slag". First Honorable Mention: Jim Higgins, for "Curb Appeal". Second Honorable Mention: Yoshiko Kayano, for "O-do-ri".

Poetry:

First Prize: Billy Albright First Honorable Mention: Shirley Griffith Brownlee Second Honorable Mention: Louis Bourgeois