## **Accounting Historians Notebook**

Volume 18 Number 1 Spring 1995

Article 14

**April 1995** 

# **Recipients of the Hourglass Award**

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah\_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Accounting Historians, Academy of (1995) "Recipients of the Hourglass Award," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 18: No. 1, Article 14.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah\_notebook/vol18/iss1/14

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

#### Accounting Historians: Recipients of the Hourglass Award

### RECIPIENTS OF THE HOURGLASS AWARD

The Hourglass Award is presented annually by The Academy of Accounting Historians to a person(s) who has made a significant contribution to the study of accounting history. It is the most prestigious award presented by The Academy. The list of recipients provided below is an update of that published in the Fall, 1989, *Notebook*.

- 1973—Steve Zeff, Tulane University, Forging Accounting Principles in five Countries.
- 1974—Michael Chatfield, California State University-Hayward, A History of Accounting Thought.
- 1975—Hanns-Martin W. Schoenfeld, University of Illinois, Cost Terminology and Cost Theory: A Study of Its Development and Present State in Central Europe.
- 1976—Osamu Kojima, Kwansei Gakuin University, and Basil S. Yamey, London School of Economics, reproduction of Ympyn's A Notable and Very Excellent Worke (1547).
- 1977—A Van Seventer, San Francisco State University, for translation of O. Ten Have's A History of Accountancy.
- 1978—David A. R. Forrester, University of Strathclyde, Schmalenbach and After: A Study of the Evolution of German Economics.
- 1979—Murray Wells, University of Sydney, Accounting for Common Costs.
- 1980—Gary John Previts, Case Western Reserve University, and Barbara D. Merino, New York University, A History of Accounting in America.
- 1981—H. Thomas Johnson, Western Washington University, for a series of articles on "The Development of Management Accounting".
- 1982—Williard Stone, University of Florida, for a series of articles on "American Accounting History."
- 1983—Richard P. Brief, New York University, for authoring many books and articles and editing 196 volumes on accounting history subjects.
- 1984—Esteban Hernandez Esteve, Bank of Spain, Contribution to the Study of Spanish Accounting History.
- 1985—H. Edgar Jones, Group Historian, Guest, Keen & Nettlefolds, Accountancy and the British Economy, 1840–1980: The Evolution of Ernst & Whinney.

- 1986—Leonard Spacek, Arthur Andersen & Co., (Retired) The Growth of Arthur Andersen & Co., 1928–1973, and Oral History.
- 1987—Ernest Stevelinck, Accountant, (Retired)
  Brussels, Belgian, for a half century of
  work in the study of accounting history
  and accounting historians.
- 1988—Peter McMickle, Memphis State University and Richard Vangermeersch, University of Rhode Island, The Origins of a Great Profession.
- 1989—Greg Whittred, University of Sydney, The Evolution of Consolidated Financial Reporting in Australia.
- 1990—Anne Loft, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, Understanding Cost Accounting in Its Social and Historical Context.
- 1991—Philip D. Bougen, Madrid Business School, Spain, Accounting and Industrial Relations: Some Historical Evidence on Their Interaction.
- 1992—Basil S. Yamey, London School of Economics, (Retired), *Art and Accounting* and other contributions to accounting history.
- 1993—James Don Edwards, University of Georgia, May 1987 commemorative centennial issue of the *Journal of Accountancy, History of Public Accounting in the United States*, and lifetime achievement for many significant contributions to accounting history.
- 1994—John R. Edwards, Cardiff Business School, as editor of *Twentieth-Century Accounting Thinkers* and many other contributions in accounting history.

A brief review of the twenty-two years in which the Hourglass Award has been given to twenty-five persons. Only Basil S. Yamey has received the award twice. London School of Economics, University of Sydney, and New York University have all been represented twice. The award has been given to thirteen in the United States and twelve in other countries which include: Australia 2, Belgium 1, Denmark 1, England 4, Scotland 1, Spain 2, and Japan 1. Of those receiving the award, four may be considered non-academics. although they may have taught at the university level.