Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 29 Number 1 April 2006

Article 8

April 2006

2006 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award; Hourglass Award: Call for nominations;

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

Accounting Historians, Academy of (2006) "2006 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award; Hourglass Award: Call for nominations;," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 29: No. 1, Article 8. Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol29/iss1/8

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

THE ACADEMY OF ACCOUNTING HISTORIANS 2006 VANGERMEERSCH MANUSCRIPT AWARD

In 1988, The Academy of Accounting Historians established an annual manuscript award to encourage academic scholars new to the field to pursue historical research. An historical manuscript on any aspect of the field of accounting, broadly defined, is appropriate for submission.

ELIGIBILITY AND GUIDELINES FOR SUBMISSIONS

Any accounting faculty member, who holds a full-time appointment and who received his/her masters/doctorate within seven years previous to the date of submission, is eligible to be considered for this award. Coauthored manuscripts will be considered (if at least one coauthor received his/her master/doctorate within the last seven years). Manuscripts must conform to the style requirements of the *Accounting Historians Journal*. Previously published manuscripts or manuscripts under review are not eligible for consideration.

Each manuscript should be submitted by **June 16, 2006** in a Word file as an e-mail attachment to the chair of the Vangermeersch Manuscript Award Committee, Professor John Richard Edwards (edwardsjr@cardiff.ac.uk).

A cover letter, indicating the author's mailing address, date masters/doctoral degree awarded, and a statement that the manuscript has not been published or is not currently being considered for publication should be included in the submission packet.

REVIEW PROCESS AND AWARD

In addition to the chair, the Vangermeersch Manuscript Award Committee includes:

Richard Fleischman Marc Nikitin David Oldroyd

The committee will evaluate submitted manuscripts on a blind-review basis and select one recipient each year. The author will receive a \$1,000 (U.S.) stipend and a plaque to recognize his/her outstanding achievement in historical research. In the case of coauthored manuscripts, only the junior faculty member(s) will receive prizes. The winning manuscript will be published in the *Accounting Historians Journal* after an appropriate review. The award will be given annually unless the Manuscript Award Committee determines that no submission warrants recognition as an outstanding manuscript.

The Accounting Historians Notebook, April 2006

26

THE ACADEMY OF ACCOUNTING HISTORIANS

Hourglass Award Call for Nominations

The Hourglass Award of the Academy of Accounting Historians is presented annually to an individual who has made a demonstrable and significant contribution to knowledge through research and publication in accounting history.

Nominations for this Award are now invited. The judging panel will echo the tradition of openness and flexibility associated with the Award and will emphasize the importance of contribution as the fundamental criterion. To that end there is no restriction as to who may make a nomination, the country in which the nominee is resident, or the paradigms and methodologies employed in the nominee's work.

Nominator's are asked to supply a 200 word (maximum) statement summarizing the reasons why the nominee should be considered, full contact details of the nominator and nominee, a list of relevant contributions and any other relevant documentation supplied by the nominee who has agreed to be nominated.

The Hourglass Judging Panel will consist of:

- Professor Salvador Carmona (Instituto de Empresa Business School)
- Professor Lee Parker (University of Adelaide)
- Professor Stephen P. Walker (Cardiff University)

All nominations and accompanying data should be sent, preferably by e-mail, to:

Professor Salvador Carmona, Chair Instituto de Empresa Business School Calle María de Molina, 12-4 28006 Madrid Spain

E-mail: salvador.carmona@ie.edu

Closing date for nominations reaching Professor Carmona is

1 June 2006

The Accounting Historians Notebook, April 2006