Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 33 Number 1 April 2010

Article 3

April 2010

Other 2009 Academy awards; Gomes awarded 2009 Magrit F. Schoenfeld and Hanns Martin W. Schoenfeld Scholarship; McKinney awarded 2009 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award; Bisman and Lippman awarded Innovation in Accounting History Education Award 2009; Life membership in the Academy honour for 2009 granted to Brief

Cheryl S. McWatters

David Oldroyd

Ingrid Jeacle

Mike Jones

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

McWatters, Cheryl S.; Oldroyd, David; Jeacle, Ingrid; and Jones, Mike (2010) "Other 2009 Academy awards; Gomes awarded 2009 Magrit F. Schoenfeld and Hanns Martin W. Schoenfeld Scholarship; McKinney awarded 2009 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award; Bisman and Lippman awarded Innovation in Accounting History Education Award 2009; Life membership in the Academy honour for 2009 granted to Brief," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 33: No. 1, Article 3.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol33/iss1/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Other 2009 Academy Awards

Gomes Awarded 2009 Magrit F. Schoenfeld and Hanns Martin W. Schoenfeld Scholarship

It is a great pleasure as Academy president to announce the 2009 recipient of the Magrit F. Schoenfeld and Hanns Martin W. Schoenfeld Scholarship in Accounting History. This award has been generously endowed Hanns Martin Schoenfeld and recognises a young scholar in accounting history. The members of the Scholarship committee were Professors Christopher Napier and Richard Fleischman, co-editors of the Accounting Historians Journal, and Professor Hanns Martin Schoenfeld, H.T. Scovill professor emeritus of accounting at the University of Illinois. I served as committee chairperson. were truly impressed by the quality and quantity of applicants and the interest in accounting-history research which they represented. The committee deliberated at length before making a unanimous decision award the 2009 Scholarship to Professor Delfina Gomes, Assistant Professor at the University of Braga, for her proposal entitled "Accounting for the Public Sector". Her research program examines accounting change in the Portuguese public sector from the 17th century to the present. Please join me in offering Delfina our hearty congratulations on this award and for the recognition that it represents. We trust that the award and funding will enable her to further her research program and bring her research to the attention of scholars around the globe.

Cheryl S. McWatters, Ph.D. CMA 2009 President, Academy of Accounting Historians

McKinney Awarded 2009 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award

It is a pleasure to announce the recipient of the 2009 Vangermeersch Manuscript Award. This year's award recipient is Professor Jim McKinney, University of Maryland for his submission entitled, "Audit Companies: Emergence, Prevalence, and Prominence in the United States Ac-

(Continued on page 9)

The Accounting Historians Notebook, April 2010

(Continued from page 8)

counting Profession". The award is given to an accounting faculty member who holds a full-time appointment and who received his/her masters/doctorate within seven years previous to the date of submission. Congratulations, Jim!

I would like to extend also my thanks to the chairman of the selection committee, Professor Lee D. Parker (University of South Australia), and to committee members, Mark Nikitin (Université d'Orléans), Richard K. Fleischman (John Carroll University), David Oldroyd (University of Newcastle upon Tyne), Dick Edwards (Cardiff Business School), for their time and efforts to adjudicate this important award

Cheryl S. McWatters, Ph.D. CMA 2009 President, Academy of Accounting Historians

Bisman and Lippman Awarded Innovation in Accounting History Education Award 2009

awarding The committee pleased to announce that the 2009 prize for Innovation in Accounting History Education has been awarded to Jane Bisman and Ellen J. Lippman jointly. It is unusual to receive two such excellent submissions in the one year, both of which were supported by papers published in the June 2009 issue of the Accounting Historians Journal, and the committee members were unable to decide between them

Bisman's submission was based around a postgraduate course in accounting history education, offered by Charles Sturt University in Australia. The committee were impressed by the careful formulation of teaching objectives and the development of course material to meet them, and by the rationale for accounting history education articulated in the AHJ article.

Lippman's submission comprised a case study relating to the exploitation of slave labor by the Nazis and designed to encourage students to consider the ethical responsibilities of accountants for the information they prepare. The committee was impressed by the innovative nature of the case which raises a host of issues regarding the perceived objectivity of accounting numbers.

David Oldroyd, Ingrid Jeacle, and Mike Jones

Innovation in Accounting History Education Award Committee

(Continued on page 10)

The Accounting Historians Notebook, April 2010

9

(Continued from page 9)

Life Membership in the Academy Honour for 2009 Granted to Brief

In a tribute to his scholarly contributions to the study of the history of accounting thought, Richard Paul Brief, Past President of the Academy of Accounting Historians (1980-81) and a former Trustee of the Academy has been admitted as a Life Member. He is currently Professor *Emeritus* at the

New York University Leonard N. Stern School of Business

Dick Brief is world renown for his writings on subjects related to accounting history and has edited several series of new and reprinted book materials on the subject of the development of accounting thought the popular series pub-



Richard Brief

lished by Arno Press and Garland Press that earned Dick an Academy Hourglass Award. Dick was a member of the 'historic' Committee on History of the American Accounting Association (1968-69), the AAA's official Representative of the First International Symposium of Accounting Historians in

Brussels in 1970, and has been a long-serving member of the AHJ editorial board. In recent years he has been a featured and keynote speaker at global accounting history conferences. Brief received his PhD from Columbia University and has been a faculty member at NYU since 1970.