Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 32 Number 2 October 2009

Article 3

October 2009

Criscione wins the Thomas J. Burns Accounting biographical Research Award

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

Accounting Historians, Academy of (2009) "Criscione wins the Thomas J. Burns Accounting biographical Research Award," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 32: No. 2, Article 3. Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol32/iss2/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Criscione Wins the Thomas J. Burns Accounting Biographical Research Award



Dale Flesher presents Burns award to E. Richard Criscione

Dr. E. Richard Criscione won the 2009 Academy of Accounting Historians Thomas J. Burns Accounting Biographical Research Award. The award was presented to Dr. Criscione August 2 at the Academy business meeting in New York City.

The Academy of Accounting Historians annually honors as recipient of the award an individual who has conducted outstanding biographical research in the discipline of accountancy. The award includes a plaque and a financial honorarium. Dr. Thomas J. Burns, for whom the award is named, was a long-time professor at Ohio State University and a past president of the Academy of Accounting Historians.

Criscione, of Morehead State University in Kentucky, was honored for his recent book on Abraham Briloff. The book, Abraham J. (Abe) Briloff: A Biography, is part of the Studies in the Development of Accounting Thought series. The selection committee consisted of Dale Flesher (chairman), Richard Vangermeersch, and Sally Schultz, who unanimously agreed on Criscione's work from a field of five strong nominations.

Past recipients of the award were: 2008 Stephen A. Zeff 2007 Donald Tidrick 2006 Richard Vangermeersch, 2005 Dale L. Flesher