Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 34 Number 2 *October*

Article 8

October 2011

Academy of Accounting Historians awars, Congratualtion to the Academy of Accounting Historians 2011 Award recipients

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook

Recommended Citation

(2011) "Academy of Accounting Historians awars, Congratualtion to the Academy of Accounting Historians 2011 Award recipients," *Accounting Historians Notebook*: Vol. 34: No. 2, Article 8. Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol34/iss2/8

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Academy of Accounting Historians Awards

Congratulations to the Academy of Accounting Historians' 2011 Award Recipients

Hourglass Award

RECIPIENT: Oktay Guvemli (Marmara University)

For his numerous writings and significant contribution to knowledge on accounting history as well as his promotion of accounting history in Turkey and throughout Central Europe and the Middle East.

The Hourglass Award of the Academy of Accounting Historians is presented annually to an individual who has made a demonstrable and significant contribution to knowledge through research and publication in accounting history.



Award Committee Chairman, Dale Flesher, presents 2011 Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award to Ed Coffman

Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award RECIPIENT: Ed Coffman (Virginia Commonwealth University)

(Continued on page 16)

(Continued from page 15)

For a lifetime of work of a biographical nature, including several published articles plus the opening biographical chapters in several books published by the Accounting Hall of Fame.

The Academy of Accounting Historians annually honors an individual as the recipient of the Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award. The Award is given for outstanding biographical research in the discipline of accountancy. Dr. Thomas J. Burns, for whom the award is named, was a long-time professor at Ohio State University and a past president of the Academy of Accounting Historians.



Academy President, Jim McKinney presents 2010 Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award to Laurie Barfitt

Vangermeersch Manuscript Award

RECIPIENT: Rania Mousa (University of Evansville) - "The Development of Electronic Filing Process: IHM Revenue & Customs, 1960s-2010"

In 1988, The Academy of Accounting Historians established an annual manuscript award to encourage scholars new to the field to pursue historical research. An historical manuscript on any aspect of the field of accounting, broadly defined, is appropriate for submission.

(Continued on page 17)

The Accounting Historians Notebook, October 2011

(Continued from page 16)

Innovation in Accounting History Education Award RECIPIENTS: Bob van den Brand, Eddy Cardinaels, Gert Jan Luijten, Ivo van Amelsfoort and Edith Leung (All from Tilburg University)

For their in-depth applications of blended learning (i-Star) in financial accounting & accounting history. They developed a system that adds web-based applications to their courses which should encourage greater student appreciation of and participation in accounting history subjects since they are embedded in the Financial Accounting (Accounting 1) course, which is taught to students in the first year of their bachelor degree.

The intent of the award is to encourage innovations in accounting history education. The award (a plaque) will be presented to an individual(s) who has developed and implemented an innovative technique/method for incorporating accounting history topics into undergraduate or graduate accounting courses.

Margit F. and Hanns-Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship RECIPIENT: Ofelia Pinto - "Accounting and Slavery: the Case of Companhia Geral do Grão Pará e Maranhão in 18th Century Portugal"

The Academy of Accounting Historians annually awards an individual or individual as the recipient or recipients of the Margit F. and Hanns-Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage and support research on the history of accounting by doctoral students and recently appointed accounting faculty. The scholarship was initiated by the generous gift of Dr. Hanns Martin Schoenfeld and the late Dr. Margit Schoenfeld in recognition of their belief in the importance of historical scholarship to accounting education and research.

Accounting Historians Journal Best Paper Awards 1st Place: Warwick Funnell (University of Kent) - "On his Majesty's Secret Service: Accounting for the Secret Service in a Time of National Peril 1782-1806". Accounting Historians Journal vol. 37, no. 1 (June), 2010.

2nd Place: Nicolas Praquin - "The Crédit Lyonnais in France (c. 1871 -1918): Using Cash Flow Analysis to Assess Risk in Banking." *Accounting Historians Journal* vol. 37, no. 1 (June), 2010.

(Continued on page 18)

(Continued from page 17)

2nd Place: Louis Stewert - "A Contingency Theory Perspective on Management Control System Design among U.S. Ante-Bellum Slave Plantations." *Accounting Historians Journal* vol. 37, no. 1 (June), 2010.



2010 Academy President, Gregory Waymire, receives Past President Award from 2011 Academy President, Jim McKinney

The Academy of Accounting Historians has changed web platforms — look for us at our new web address: http://www.aahhq.org/