Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 37 Number 2 October 2014

Article 12

October 2014

Dale L. Flesher Receives 2014 Hourglass Award

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

(2014) "Dale L. Flesher Receives 2014 Hourglass Award," Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 37: No. 2 , Article 12.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol37/iss2/12

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

Dale L. Flesher Receives 2014 Hourglass Award

<u>Dale L. Flesher</u> is a Professor in the Patterson School of Accountancy at the University of Mississippi and holds the Roland & Sheryl Burns Chair; he also serves as associate dean of the School of Accountancy. He received both bachelors and masters degrees from Ball State University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati. He has authored over 400 articles for more than 100 professional journals throughout the world, including *The Accounting Review, Journal of Accountancy, The CPA Journal, ABA-CUS, The Accounting Historians Journal, Accounting and Business Research, and Accounting, Organizations and Society.* He is also the author of 50 books (in 89 editions), including the 50th anniversary history of The Institute of Internal Auditors, the centennial history of NASBA, and the 75th anniversary history of the American Accounting Association. Dr. Flesher has served as editor of The Accounting Historians Journal, a position he held from 1989 through 1994. He previously edited *The Accounting Historians Notebook* for ten years.

Dr. Flesher has won numerous research and teaching awards. He received the University of Mississippi's 1987 Burlington Northern Faculty Achievement Award as the outstanding faculty member campuswide. Earlier, in 1976, he won the campus-wide outstanding teacher of the year award from Appalachian State University. He won the 1990 Leon Radde Award from the Institute of Internal Auditors as the outstanding auditing educator world wide. He was selected by the Mississippi Society of CPAs as the 1998 Accounting Educator of the Year. In 2005, he received the first Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research in Accountancy Award. In 2011, he was selected by the AICPA as the nation's outstanding accounting educator. He also received the 2011 Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award from the University of Mississippi, which is a lifetime achievement award. In 2014, he was honored by the Acad-

emy of Accounting Historians with its Hourglass Award. He has served on the Board of Trustees of the AICPA Foundation and was a member of AICPA's governing Council. He is a past president of the Academy of Accounting Historians. He has served the American Accounting Association as vice president of finance and as president of the Teaching, Learning & Curriculum Section.

His wife, Tonya, is also an accounting professor and former dean at Ole Miss. She, too, has served as president of the Academy of Accounting Historians. They have two adult children and live in Oxford, Mississippi.



The Accounting Historians Notebook, October 2014