Archives & Special Collections: Finding Aids


Document Type

Finding Aid

Collection Date





Haines, Carolyn; Women authors, American; Authors, American -- Mississippi

General Physical Description Note

9 boxes; 6 binders of negatives


Carolyn Haines was born in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. She earned a B.S. in journalism from the University of Southern Mississippi and an M.A. in English with an emphasis in creative writing from the University of Southern Alabama. Her first novel, Summer of Fear, was published in 1993. She has since published over 20 books, including a series of novels about Southern belle detective Sarah Booth Delaney and a work of nonfiction, My Mother’s Witness: The Peggy Morgan Story, about a young white woman caught in a violent world of racism and brutality during the Civil Rights movement and its aftermath. The collection contains nine boxes of Haines’s manuscript material, correspondence, and book jacket art. The collection also includes 6 binders of 35mm negatives Ms. Haines took in the 1970's as a photographer for publications including the Mobile Press Register, the Mississippi Press, the Hattiesburg American, and the George County Times.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.